Forsyth School was founded in 1961 as a small preschool in a house leased from the Unity Christ Church on Forsyth Boulevard. Founder Mary Dunbar established an environment for creative learning using methods and materials now considered ahead of their time. Soon, a small, non-graded primary school was added for 15 children ages 5–7 whose families wanted to stay at Forsyth. The school expanded by one grade level each year and graduated its first sixth-grade class in 1970. Forsyth had grown to become a highly respected, independent elementary school in an astonishingly brief period.

Explore the Chronological History of Forsyth School

The Forsyth School campus consists of six historic homes, acquired one by one throughout the school’s more than 60-year history. All six were built in the 1920s and are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Each has been renovated to accommodate classrooms and administrative offices, plus a library, science labs, and lunchrooms. The adjoining backyards of the six homes—three each on the parallel streets of Wydown and Forsyth Boulevard—create a large inner campus courtyard with playgrounds, garden beds, athletic spaces, and green spaces. Through the years, new construction has enhanced the campus with the addition of the Rand Center for Performing Arts & Athletics (including the Adventure Center featuring a high ropes course, climbing wall, and high beam), Falcon’s Nest (home of the Eyas Program for ages 2–3), and campus-wide infrastructure updates to support teaching and learning.

Forsyth’s unique campus supports the school’s culture of challenge and defines the educational experience as children grow from grade to grade and move from house to house. Students navigate the campus on a daily basis for dedicated specialist classes in Innovation & Design, Library, Physical Education, Science, Spanish, and the visual and performing arts.

Heads of School

Historic Homes

Forsyth’s unique campus setting contributes to its culture. Each historic home, manageable in size for a child, maintains its own character and identity. Forsyth students and their families consider the transition from house to house by grade a special rite of passage. This allows children to develop a sense of place as they become more familiar and comfortable with the campus and community.

Forsyth’s six historic homes are all listed on the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Wydown-Forsyth Historic District by the U.S. Department of the Interior.

Fillmore House [Forsyth]

Built: 1925; Renovated: 2015
Acquired: 1965
Architect: Albert Meyer

Gerdine House [Forsyth]

Built: 1926; Renovated: 2003
Acquired: 1995
Architect: Maritz & Young

New House [Forsyth]

Built: 1927; Renovated: 2004/05
Acquired: 1989
Architect: Maritz & Young

Last House [Wydown]

Built: 1928; Renovated: 2013
Acquired: 1996
Architect: Nolte & Nauman

Next House [Wydown]

Built: 1929; Renovated: 2013
Acquired: 2012
Architect: Dan Mullen

Dunbar House [Wydown]

Built: 1930
Acquired: 1977
Architect: Nolte & Nauman